Tuesday, January 3, 2012
In time
I watched half of Night Of The Living Dead. The original not that stupid remake. Why remake something that is already fantastic? Anyway I'm hoping to finish the movie and review soon. :)
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comments:
While I'm one that hates what Hollywood is doing to the horror genre concerning all of the unnecessary remakes, the remake of Night of the Living Dead has its rightful place in cinema. Romero's original was a political and societal statement regarding racism and the American society becoming a brainless mass of walking forms. Tom Savini's remake was also a political statement, whereas instead of racism, it focused more on the female empowerment movement that really came into force in the years prior to its release. Savini's remake wasn't Hollywood just wanting to make a quick buck like the rash of trash that has come out in the past few years. This year is also seeing a remake of Night of The Living Dead. I'm holding out hope that it uses the property as a vessel to make a statement about our society(and that it doesn't shove it down our throats, but lets us use our minds), but I'm wary that its just another plot to make money using a pre-established franchise.
Post a Comment