Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Night of The Living Dead (1968)

Sorry everybody I've been sick with the winter snuffles. I recently had a person comment on a post saying that the original Night of The Living Dead was a "statement regarding racism and the American society becoming a brainless mass of walking forms." I guess everybody has their opinions, and mine is I didn't really like the remake. Thats all that needs to be said on that. I thank z0mb13m4n for his comment, here is all that they had to say - "While I'm one that hates what Hollywood is doing to the horror genre concerning all of the unnecessary remakes, the remake of Night of the Living Dead has its rightful place in cinema. Romero's original was a political and societal statement regarding racism and the American society becoming a brainless mass of walking forms. Tom Savini's remake was also a political statement, whereas instead of racism, it focused more on the female empowerment movement that really came into force in the years prior to its release. Savini's remake wasn't Hollywood just wanting to make a quick buck like the rash of trash that has come out in the past few years. This year is also seeing a remake of Night of The Living Dead. I'm holding out hope that it uses the property as a vessel to make a statement about our society(and that it doesn't shove it down our throats, but lets us use our minds), but I'm wary that its just another plot to make money using a pre-established franchise."


          When we hear that classic line "Their coming to get you Barbra." We think of only one thing. George A. Romero's classically spooky tale Night of The Living Dead. It sends chills up our spines and goosebumps up our arms. My grandfather saw Night of The Living Dead when it was in theaters. He never watched another horror movie again. When I first saw this gem of a film a few questions popped into my head like, why is the zombie in the cemetery picking up a rock and throwing it at Barbra's car window? Or why is Barbra falling all the time? Its not like there are a lot rocks to trip over. Maybe she is just clumsy. Also that jerky fellow in the basement heard that anyone that was bitten by the dead was to turn and his daughter is down there with his wife while she is lying dying. Hey that rhymed. well i guess he got what he deserved. I'm sure all of us were yelling at the screen when the end came and Ben (Duane Jones) was killed. Like we could care less about Harry or Barbra but why Ben? He was the only one with the common sense to board the farm house up. 
          My last words on this movie are never let your brother wear stupid gloves, always listen to the person with a solid plan, and when you hear things like mass murder and assailants eating victims board your windows and grab a gun. Also it helps not to panic. :)
                                                            Living Dead Girl
                                                                                  P.S Sorry this review was so short, longer one soon.    

1 comments:

Living Dead Father said...

So I love your review on this movie, your feed back is always impeccable and insightful. And yes this movie is a classic and classics can't be beat. Even one as cheese as this.

Post a Comment

Followers